The Polish Society of Neuropathology

The Polish Association of Neuropathologists was founded in 1964. The general assembly is held every three years. The five board members also meet in between. There are 40 members, but only 15 physicians are actively involved with neuropathology.

Society officers 2017-2020:

President of the Polish Association of Neuropathologists:  Ewa Izycka-Swieszewska, MD Prof
Vice-President:  Prof. Teresa Wierzba-Bobrowicz, MD
Treasurer:  Malgorzata Frontczak-Baniewicz, MSci Prof.
Secretary:  Dorota Dziewulska, MD Prof.
Member of the Board: Aleksandra Sejda, MD PhD

Editor-in-chief of Folia Neuropathologica:  Prof. Ewa Matyja, MD

National Consultant in Neuropathology: Wieslawa Grajkowska, MD Prof.

Representatives in the Euro-CNS Council: Wieslawa Grajkowska  and Ewa Izycka-Swieszewska

Journal: “Folia Neuropathologica” is the official journal of the Polish Association of Neuropathologists and the Medical Research Center of the Polish Academy of Sciences. (Impact Factor  1,093)

The official webpage of the Polish Association of Neuropathologists is under the reconstruction. Currently only the basic info is available on

Neuropathology status in Poland:
Neuropathology in Poland is a medical specialty with the existence of formal organized training system being supervised by a National Consultant and the Expert Committee. The specialization can be done as a separate program (residency) or as a continuation of education with dedicated programs after pathology, neurology or neurosurgery. Several obligatory courses exist. The training is finished with the national exam and certification of specialization.